FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community

Go Back   FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community > Fishing Discussion > Local Fishing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Google

Old 06-30-2017, 07:47 AM

Default July fly advice

Guys,

I have been fishing the Caney Fork with rod, reel and bait for 30 years. I have decided to try fly fishing for trout. I always catch and release, I don't care for eating fish so I have decided to take up fly fishing for the challenge. I am going to be there for the next couple weeks on vacation. Can you guys recommend some good flies to use this time of the year? I was just planning on trying a black wooly booger to start with but would really appreciate your suggestions for a beginner.

Thanks,

Jon
Old 06-30-2017, 09:54 AM

Black zebra midge in size 16 or 18 is a year round fly for the Caney. You can mix up the color with olive or tan if you want to experiment. Scuds and sowbugs do well also. I drift them all under an indicator but have also caught them stripping the fly in as well.
Old 06-30-2017, 10:08 AM
Owner and Administrator

Smile Great Information. <'TK><

Quote:
Originally Posted by peytoncreekhunter View Post
Black zebra midge in size 16 or 18 is a year round fly for the Caney. You can mix up the color with olive or tan if you want to experiment. Scuds and sowbugs do well also. I drift them all under an indicator but have also caught them stripping the fly in as well.
Sir, Fly fishing is a small percentage of our forum discussions. It is nice to have someone who can forward this information on to other Fly anglers. This is your first post since becoming a member in 2011. Please continue, this is what our forum is all about ... Thanks .. <'TK><
Old 06-30-2017, 11:46 AM
rookie