FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community

Go Back   FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community > General Discussion > Fishing Gear
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Google
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-15-2019, 03:17 AM
Adrian's Avatar
Adrian Adrian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin
Posts: 598
Question Does anyone else run a Motorguide Xi5?

I'm having an Xi5 issue. If I run it on 100 for more than about 30 seconds it shuts down and the lights go off. I stow it, unplug it and plug it back in. Deploy it and it works fine as long as I stay under 100%.

Is my it my inline breaker?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2019, 06:48 AM
Buccaneer Buccaneer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 635
Default

It's the breaker most likely. Is the plug hot when you disconnect it? Is the breaker an auto-reset type? If so and it has tripped several times they are prone to go bad. I assume this is a 24 volt system so you should have a 60 Amp breaker.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2019, 07:30 PM
Adrian's Avatar
Adrian Adrian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin
Posts: 598
Default

I have replaced the Marinco Plug thinking it was the Plug and it wasn't. I've noticed it does get a little warm at high speeds. It is a 24V system and each Battery has a 30A breaker. I was lead to believe that wired independently as they are, that 2 30A would equal 60A.

I'll attach a photo.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5209.JPG (2.71 MB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2019, 07:32 PM
Adrian's Avatar
Adrian Adrian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin
Posts: 598
Default

There is no Manual Reset on the Breakers. It just shuts off, and I stow the trolling motor unplug it and plug it back in and it works again as long as I don't do 100%.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2019, 07:53 AM
spottedbass's Avatar
spottedbass spottedbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 478
Default

I am running the same trolling motor. I haven't had any issues with running it at 100%. I do have a single breaker.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190816_074913[1].jpg (1.69 MB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2019, 07:56 AM
spottedbass's Avatar
spottedbass spottedbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 478
Default

On another note, do you have your Xi5 networked into your HDS units?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2019, 11:23 AM
Adrian's Avatar
Adrian Adrian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spottedbass View Post
On another note, do you have your Xi5 networked into your HDS units?
Yes they are all networked. I'm beginning to wonder if I should just pull the 4 wires and go to 2 wires and put the batteries in series with one 60 amp breaker. Question is, will I be fine with the existing #8 wire or should I go #6?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-2019, 02:18 PM
spottedbass's Avatar
spottedbass spottedbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 478
Default

I only have 2 wires and my batteries are hooked in series.

I would go with the #6 wire. #8 might get hot if you are pushing the trolling motor hard.

So I guess you have a NMEA 2000 Network? I have my HDS units linked with the ethernet cable. Just wondering if it is worth the money and hassle to install the NMEA 2000 Network just to have the Xi5 talking to the HDS. I get on my waypoint now and hit anchor on the Xi5. Is having the Xi5 connected a big advantage?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-17-2019, 12:15 AM
Adrian's Avatar
Adrian Adrian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spottedbass View Post
I only have 2 wires and my batteries are hooked in series.

I would go with the #6 wire. #8 might get hot if you are pushing the trolling motor hard.

So I guess you have a NMEA 2000 Network? I have my HDS units linked with the ethernet cable. Just wondering if it is worth the money and hassle to install the NMEA 2000 Network just to have the Xi5 talking to the HDS. I get on my waypoint now and hit anchor on the Xi5. Is having the Xi5 connected a big advantage?
Yes NMEA 2000 Network. I'm trying to remember why I needed it in the beginning, It think it was because of the Pinpoint Gateway that I installed, and then it came in handy when I put in the Point One (Hockey Puck). So many advantages to having the Pinpoint Gateway, probably too many to list here, but for one, I can click on the map and tell the MG to take me to any spot I touch on the screen and it will drive there and go into Anchor mode when it arrives. This feature really helps if you're trying to triangulate a position on a school of summer bass!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-17-2019, 08:15 AM
Buccaneer Buccaneer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 635
Default

Adrian what pound thrust is your troller? My 80lb Minn Kota Maxxum Pro draws 57 amps at the high setting. A 60 amp breaker is necessary a 6 gauge wire advisable. You should re-rig for a single breaker arrangement.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-17-2019, 03:27 PM
Adrian's Avatar
Adrian Adrian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buccaneer View Post
Adrian what pound thrust is your troller? My 80lb Minn Kota Maxxum Pro draws 57 amps at the high setting. A 60 amp breaker is necessary a 6 gauge wire advisable. You should re-rig for a single breaker arrangement.
Mine is 80lb also. I'm just now beginning the Amazon hunt. So many parts with all the ring terminals & sizes... Looks like this project will begin sometime next weekend!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-21-2019, 08:28 AM
Blackdog Blackdog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lascassas, TN
Posts: 15
Default

I had to do the same thing when I upgraded to an 80lb Minn Kota...
Installed Marinco 70A Trolling Motor Plug & Receptacle, 6 G wire, single 60A breaker.
FYI if you need wire, check out https://tinnedmarinewire.com/wire/ ... they will send wire with your colors, add whatever size lugs you need, heat shrink, etc.

On a side note, I had an older MG motor that started cutting out at high speed, found a melted wire in the head. Cut and re-soldered, it was fine after that.

-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-25-2019, 01:42 AM
Adrian's Avatar
Adrian Adrian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin
Posts: 598
Default

Just wanted to update: Replaced the old wiring with 6 gauge. Ran the batteries in series with a 60amp breaker and 60amp marinco outlet. Everything works perfectly. Can run wide open with no problem!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-25-2019, 07:03 AM
spottedbass's Avatar
spottedbass spottedbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hendersonville
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian View Post
Just wanted to update: Replaced the old wiring with 6 gauge. Ran the batteries in series with a 60amp breaker and 60amp marinco outlet. Everything works perfectly. Can run wide open with no problem!

Awesome! Glad your back up to "full speed ahead".
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Site best viewed at 1280X1024
FishingTN.com