FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community

Go Back   FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community > Fishing Discussion > Local Fishing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Google
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-03-2018, 05:36 AM
fair weather fisher fair weather fisher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16
Default Electronic placement question

I have a question for a few people. When installing a new console depth finder at the steering wheel, how do most people rig it? Shoot thru hull or hard wire onto the back of transom down into the water. I want a shoot thru hull configuration but i am concerned it will affect the sensitivity of the reading and not give me an accurate reading as the other method. Just looking for a few thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2018, 12:13 PM
XxthejuicexX's Avatar
XxthejuicexX XxthejuicexX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Murfreesboro
Age: 34
Posts: 2,929
Default

Back of the Transom. You can't shoot through the hull with Structure scan. I also like to know my transducers are as level as possible when the boat is in the water.
__________________
NOPE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2018, 02:27 PM
luckystratos luckystratos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: portland
Posts: 254
Default

On back of transom. Some folks do run a splitter with another ducer/2d inside hull but I haven't tried that one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2018, 04:29 PM
agelesssone's Avatar
agelesssone agelesssone is offline
nashvillefishingguides.co
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 2,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fair weather fisher View Post
I have a question for a few people. When installing a new console depth finder at the steering wheel, how do most people rig it? Shoot thru hull or hard wire onto the back of transom down into the water. I want a shoot thru hull configuration but i am concerned it will affect the sensitivity of the reading and not give me an accurate reading as the other method. Just looking for a few thoughts.
Don't know if it's a fiberglass or aluminum boat.

You can't shoot through an aluminum hull .125 thick, not sure about smaller thicknesses, but don't think you can shoot through any aluminum hulled boat.

You will only get 2D with a thru the hull transducer, definitely not side scan or SI.

Put your transducer on the transom, 1/8th of an inch ABOVE the bottom of the boat. You won't be able to read bottom at high speeds but you also won't have your transducer knocked off by stuff in the water when you are running at speeds.

I don't know what graph/unit you are mounting, but my transducer cost $386.00 and I don't want it getting destroyed.

There are many partially submerged hazards in the water that can destroy your transducer in a heartbeat.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2018, 06:57 PM
fair weather fisher fair weather fisher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for all the advice! Those are some great tips. My boat is fiberglass. It came with a shoot thru hull finder but quit working years ago. It was just a cheap unit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2018, 07:37 PM
Heiny57's Avatar
Heiny57 Heiny57 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: franklin
Posts: 898
Default

Transom mount.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2018, 09:52 PM
ALANRAYG2 ALANRAYG2 is offline
Cartoonafish
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbia, TN
Posts: 242
Default sealant

If you mount outside on the transom make sure you seal the mounting screws with a quality marine "below the waterline sealant". If you need a depth reading while underway then mount the transducer inside the hull where there is only a single thickness of fiberglass. You shouldn't lose much information with the inside mount.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2018, 02:21 AM
Adrian's Avatar
Adrian Adrian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gallatin
Posts: 568
Default

I have my 2D hull mounted, never had an issue finding fish with that configuration. Also, I can read depths at 65MPH which is not only handy but necessary. My structure scan is mounted to my jack plate.

The ideal scenario would be to have a splitter as mentioned, but I can't find one for the Lowrance HDS 12. That being said, I'm not going to run wide open in Old Hickory with its questionable channel markers without a constant read out of depth. No sir, No thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-2018, 05:54 PM
Dakota's Avatar
Dakota Dakota is offline
Dakota S
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mt Juliet
Posts: 1,421
Default

Hereís my setup. The unit on the far right is HDS7 Structure scan and down imaging mounted at the transom. The middle one is thru hull but doesnít work. The Hook2 unit to the far left I have the transducer mounted on the trolling motor. I have a suction cup mount and also a ball mount beside the trolling motor. The cord is long enough to mount in either position. I mount this unit depending on what kind of fishing Iím doing. I have a separate battery up front for the unit on the left.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Site best viewed at 1280X1024
© FishingTN.com