FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community

FishingTN.com Tennessee's Fishing and Boating Community (http://www.fishingtn.com/index.php)
-   Local Fishing (http://www.fishingtn.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Cumberland River 8-19 (http://www.fishingtn.com/showthread.php?t=12221)

jknight13 08-22-2017 10:01 PM

Cumberland River 8-19

Fished Cumberland Saturday morning near Briley. Caught a 18-20 largemouth but none of them over a pound. Was using a 8-10 foot crankbait and only had luck catching on the rocks about 6-8 feet away feom the shoreline. Anybody had any luck catching any bigger fish? If so, where at and on what?

I am new to fishing the river and trying to get a few pointers if anyone is willing to share.

CreekWalker 08-23-2017 01:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jknight13 (Post 79433)
Fished Cumberland Saturday morning near Briley. Caught a 18-20 largemouth but none of them over a pound. Was using a 8-10 foot crankbait and only had luck catching on the rocks about 6-8 feet away feom the shoreline. Anybody had any luck catching any bigger fish? If so, where at and on what?

I am new to fishing the river and trying to get a few pointers if anyone is willing to share.

Based on that math you were probably catching spotted bass? Keep on it there are bigger fish around.

TnCreekMaster 08-23-2017 10:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jknight13 (Post 79433)

I fish cheatham quite a bit, try fishing out a little deeper during the day in say 15-25 fow, and if your fishing in the morning always have a few topwaters tied on, weightless fluke and a sexy dog jr, if you have rod holders troll some 5 or 6xd's can't go wrong with a gizzard shad color, or jig a spoon or blade bait and you'll catch a mixed bag every time, the bigger spots and smallies are out there just have to cover water till you find em, I've caught a few 18"+ spots and a couple over 20" smallies one being 24", keep at it!

Brian37075 08-23-2017 10:29 PM